Is it OK to quit?

April 1, 2009 at 2:38 am 1 comment

On the way to ballet class

Jen:

Every Saturday since September of last year my 4 year old daughter was taking  ballet/tap class.  The ballet studio she went to follows the school season.  In June they are going to have a cute recital in which the girls will dress up in a bumble bee costume .   Well, all the other little girls will be dancing and tapping their little hearts out…except for my daughter.  I let her quit her ballet/tap class.  I let my 4 year old make her first real decision that didn’t have to do with who she would invite over for a play-date or what outfit she should wear.  I’ve have always wanted my kids to be involved in sports….To make being physically active an every day activity that would come natural to them like waking up and brushing their teeth.  I believe it’s so important to teach kids the importance of being physically active to their health and well-being.   Did I mention that my daughter also takes gymnastics every Tuesday night and has been for almost 2 years?  And let’s not forget about soccer.  She started that at the YMCA when she was 3.   Now she belongs to an association in VA.  She started last year in the fall and just started back up this spring.   About 4 weeks ago my daughter started throwing fits about going to ballet class.  She kept telling me that she did not want to go.  I would make her go and after the class she seemed to have enjoyed it.   Sometimes she would throw fits about going to school but, don’t all kids?  I figured this was a one time deal.  Same thing the next weekend.  My daughter kept saying she did not want to go.  I sat her down and we talked about it.  I asked her why she did not want to go to ballet class anymore.  My daughter said that she did not like taking ballet.   She told me that she only liked soccer and gymnastics.    I asked her if she wanted to stop going to class.  She said Yes.  OK….we won’t go to ballet class anymore.  She looked at me and said Thank you Mommy. (she has such good manners. I’m so proud)  I guess I figured that I would expose my kids to different types of physical activity then let them decide what they enjoyed doing and what they did not enjoy doing. And my daughter did just that. Did I make the right choice?    Or is this situation showing my child that it’s OK to quit?  Or…. am I over analyzing another situation?

 

Stacy:

It is okay to let her quit because its not an issue of her not wanting to do anything.  She is clearly involved in other things and totally enjoys them.. So she is obviously well aware of what she likes and doesn’t like and she is entitled to that.  As long as she is following through on the things she likes in a healthy way then you have nothing to worry about.  You are overanalyzing as usual my friend!  🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

My Radio Debut… Granny’s Got Sticky Fingers

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Era  |  April 1, 2009 at 3:29 am

    Hi ladies, at four years old I think she can handle the extra free time that quitting ballet will afford. The important thing is that she was given the exposure.

    My neighbor has an interesting theory. He lets his kids try everything… and if they don’t show promise after a few months, he takes them out of the class himself.

    I’m the mother of three, and have had this struggle myself. Check out my blog sometime it’s erasundar.wordpress.com. There are a variety of topics including many on family and parenting.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Categories

April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930